June 16, 2024

The 4th National Lok Adalat was organized at the District Court Complex in Srinagar.

The 4th National Lok Adalat was organized at the District Court Complex in Srinagar.


Srinagar: 09/12/2023( JKNN) The 4th National Lok Adalat was organized by District Legal Services Authority Srinagar under the under the patronage of J&K Legal Services Authority.

The event was organized under the able guidance of Hon’ble Mr Justice N. Kotiswar Singh, the Chief Justice of High Court of J&K and Ladakh (Patron-in- Chief) J&K Legal Services Authority and Hon’ble Mr. Justice Tashi Rabstan, Executive Chairman J&K Legal Services Authority today on 09th of December 2023 at District Court Complex Mominabad Srinagar.

The National Lok Adalat was inaugurated by Mr. Jawad Ahmed Chairman District Legal Services Authority Srinagar, District Court Complex Srinagar in presence of Judicial Officers of District Srinagar at 10:30 A.M.

Each Court had identified cases for the 4th National Lok Adalat beforehand and same were placed before Eleven (14) different benches constituted by DLSA Srinagar including three Special benches for settlement of revenue matters,social,welfare matters and Labour cases in 4th National Lok Adalat.

Nevertheless, Bench No.1 comprised of Ms. Jeema Bashir, Presiding Officer, MACT, Srinagar and Ms. Aarti Mohan Fast Track Court (POCSO Cases) Srinagar, Bench No.2 comprised of Ms. Masarat Roohi, Principal Judge Family Court Srinagar and Mr. Sandeep Gandotra (Additional Sessions Judge TADA/POTA Court) Srinagar, Bench No.3 comprised of Mr. Arvind Sharma (Additional District & Sessions Judge, Bank Cases) Srinagar and Ms. Renu Dogra (2nd Additional District & Sessions Judge) Srinagar, Bench No. 4 comprised of Dr Farah Deeba (Officiating President District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission) Srinagar, and Shabnum Munshi (Member District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission) Srinagar,Bench No.5 Comprised of Mr. Raja Mohammad Tasleem (Chief Judicial Magistrate) Srinagar and Mr. Ahtzaz Ahmad (2nd Additional Munsiff) Srinagar,Bench No.6 comprised of Mr. Ahsan Ullah Parvaiz (Spl. Mobile Magistrate) (Railway Magistrate Srinagar) and Mr. Adnan Manzoor, Munsiff Sub-Registrar Srinagar,Bench No. 7 Comprised of Ms. Fozia Paul (City Judge) Srinagar. and Mr. Shafeeq Ahmad Malik (1st Additional Munsiff) Srinagar,Bench No. 8 Comprised of Ms. Mahreen Mushtaq (Municipal Magistrate) Srinagar and Ms. Tabassum (Judge Small Causes) Srinagar, Bench No. 9 comprised of Mr. Mudasir Farooq (Spl. Mobile Magistrate(T) Srinagar and Mr. Raja Arshad Hamid, Addl. Spl. Mobile Magistrate Srinagar, Bench No. 10 comprised of Mr. Sayeem Qayoom, City Munsiff Srinagar and Mr. Adnan Manzoor (Munsiff Sub-Registrar) Srinagar, Bench No. 11 Comprised of Ms. Lubna Sultan, Addl. Spl. Mobile Magistrate (13th FC) Panthachowk Srinagar and President Bar Association PanthaChowk (Member), Bench N0 12 Comprised of Mr. Mukhtar Ahmad (District Social Welfare officer) Srinagar and Ms Rukaya Bhat (District Mission Coordinator District Hub for empowerment of women) Srinagar (Member) ,Bench No 13 Comprised of Mr Arshid Qadir (ALC) Srinagar and Mr Abdul Hamid (Labour Inspector) Srinagar and Bench No 14 Comprised of Mr Moin Azhar Kakroo (Tehsildar South and Mr Imtiyaz Ahmad Naik(Tehsildar Headquarters)Srinagar.

     Cases for settlement included cases of Civil, Criminal Compoundable, Cheque bounce, Traffic Challans, Bank matters, MACT, Land Compensation, Matrimonial, Electricity and Pre-litigation matters. Further, Pre-litigation matters were taken up, which included PDD matters, bank recovery matters, PHE cases, Social Welfare Schemes, matrimonial disputes, land disputes, BSNL cases, municipality cases, revenue matters, social welfare and Labour cases.  In Motor Vehicle accident related cases Lok- Adalat bench of Ms. Jeema Bashir and Ms. Aarti Mohan awarded compensation to the tune of rupees Two Crore Fifty Eight Lacs and Seventy Five Thousand only (Rs 2,58,75,000),in bank cases, bench no 3 of Mr. Arvind Sharma. Ms. Renu Dogra awarded settlement amount of  rupees Six Crore and Seventy Seven Lakh Fourty Two Thousand Four Hundred Ninety Four (Rs.6,77,42,494) and in bench no 7 Ms.  Fozia Paul (City Judge) Srinagar and Mr. Shafeeq Ahmad Malik (1st Additional Munsiff) Srinagar awarded settlement amount of rupees Eight Crore Twenty Three Lacs Fifty Thousand only (Rs 8,23,50,000).

   Nonetheless, a total number of 58811 matters were taken up for their amicable settlement, out of which 52774 matters were settled. Besides, an amount of rupees Eighteen Crore Forty Two Lacs Sixty Thousand Four Hundred  Seventy Eight only (Rs.184260478) was realized as the settlement amount.     



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *